**Jorge Franco** Guest in Residence

Posted on April 12, 2016


Hello Everyone,

We are happy to announce the arrival of our new artist in residence in the guest studio: Jorge Franco, coming from Brazil. He will be staying at Goleb for 3 months, so there will be some time to get to know him and welcome him warmly to Amsterdam and the many communities here.

A little about his work and what he plans to do while he is here, in his words:

Along with painting, for the last 15 years I have dedicated myself to drawing: large drawings with coal and ink, and smaller drawings with pen and ink. My choice of images involves sketches, photographs, images from the newspapers, the Internet, or my own, while wandering through the cities and finally finding the right scenery that catches my eyes. I mount on one plate the possibilities for a new drawing, with 4, 5 or even 6 images, and sometimes many more on the same plate. These are parts or details of the city we see in our daily life, but the images can also be the ones secretly guarded in my (our) memory. After constructing the right design, I also let the historical pictures speak through the drawing, although accuracy is not so important: I do not intend to build the image of a particular place, as identification or meaning are less important for me than shape, light, or the line.
I came to the Netherlands to continue this work, with a proposal to draw 4 arbitrary cities: Amsterdam, Rotterdam, Utrecht and Nijmegen.

 

Attachment-1.jpeg

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Posted in: Uncategorized